Hospitality New Zealand's Awards for Excellence Programme

We're pleased to offer members significant savings with our exclusive deals!

Member Benefits Directory

Entries have now closed!

The Hospitality New Zealand Awards for Excellence honour the achievement of excellence in a wide range of categories. The awards highlight excellence in hospitality venues that have performed exceptionally throughout the year.  For the winners it also brings fabulous marketing and advertising opportunities that are invaluable to your venue. All Awards winners are presented with a certificate and trophy for display in your venue, as well as a winner’s logo which can be used for your venue’s overall marketing and promotional campaigns.

Judging has commenced and finalists will be announced in late August.

Winners will be announced at the Lion black tie Awards for Excellence dinner, being held on Thursday 8 October at the Rutherford Hotel in Nelson.

Good luck to all those who have entered!


What does the judging process involve?

Up to three national finalists will be chosen in each category, with these finalists being announced in August. All finalists will receive a logo to use in your marketing and promotional activity. Category Award winners, along with the Supreme Overall Winner, will be announced at the black tie Awards for Excellence Dinner at the Rutherford Hotel Nelson, on Thursday 8 October 2015. It is a condition of entry that all finalists are required to be present for this event, to receive the Award if successful.

The judging process involves all judges marking the written entries. Each entry is then visited by one judge to validate the entry, and then the judges meet to make their final decisions. The Judges decisions are final and regrettably there is no feedback available to members.

For all Award for Excellence enquiries

Please contact, Rebecca Dobbs, National Service Centre, 0800 500 503 - or

Hospitality NZ Awards for Excellence Sponsors

Every year the Awards for Excellence programme is supported by a number of hospitality suppliers and we are very grateful for their continued support and encourage members to use their products and services. If you are interested in becoming a supporter of an Award please email Rebecca Dobbs at or phone 0800 500 503.

Principal Sponsor

Award Sponsors

Best Accommodation

Best Bar

Best Beverage List

Best Cafe

Best Country Hotel

Best Dish $25 and

Under/Over $25

Best Music Entertainment Venue

Excellence in Customer


Best New/Redeveloped

Best Restaurant

Excellence in Marketing

Best Retail Off-Licence

Excellence in Training

and Staff Development

Excellence in Host Responsibility

Excellence in Gaming

Best TAB Venue